Canada’s First Time Home Buyer Incentive Program

The new First-Time Home Buyer Incentive allows eligible first-time home buyers, who have the minimum downpayment for an insured mortgage, to apply to finance a portion of their home purchase through a form of shared equity mortgage with the Government of Canada.

How Do I know if I Qualify for This Incentive?

At least one homeowner must be a first-time home buyer, which is considered as the following:

  • You have never purchased a home before
  • You have gone through a breakdown of marriage or common-law partnership (even if the other first-time homebuyer requirements are not met)
  • In the last 4 years, you did not occupy a home that was occupied by the home buyer or their spouse

How Does my Income Affect Qualifying for this Incentive?

Your total qualifying income must be $120,000 per year or less. Remember you will still need to qualify the income requirements set out by lenders and mortgage loan insurers.

Do I Still Need Mortgage Insurance?

Mortgages must be eligible for mortgage loan insurance through either Canada Guaranty, CMHC or Genworth. The first mortgage must be greater than 80% of the value of the property and is subject to a mortgage loan insurance premium. The premium is based on the loan-to-value ratio of the first mortgage only. That is, the first mortgage amount divided by the purchase price. The Incentive amount is included with the total down payment.

Do I Have to Pay the Government Back

The first-time home buyer will be required to repay the Incentive amount after 25 years or when the property is sold, whichever comes first. The home buyer can also repay the Incentive in full at any time, without a pre-payment penalty. Refinancing of the first mortgage will not trigger repayment.

How is the Repayment Calculated?

Repayment is based on the property’s fair market value at the point in time where repayment is required. If you receive the 5% Incentive, you will pay 5% of the home’s current market value. If you received 10%, you will pay 10% of the home’s current market value.

Does this Affect the Type of Property I can Purchase?

Yes, there are some guidelines for the type of property, and the intention of ownership. Eligible residential properties include:

  • New construction
  • Re-sale home
  • New and re-sale mobile/manufactured homes Residential properties can include 1 to 4 units.

Types of Residential Properties Include:

  • family homes
  • Semi-detached homes
  • Duplex
  • Triplex
  • Fourplex
  • Townhouses
  • Condominium units

Depending on the eligible property type, the Government of Canada will offer 5% for a first-time buyer’s purchase of a re-sale home, and 5% or 10% for a first-time buyer’s purchase of a new construction. The property must be located in Canada and must be suitable and available for full-time, year-round occupancy. Additionally, you can NOT purchase the home with the intention of renting, as investment properties are not eligible.

Have More Questions About Mortgages? Contact for a Free Consultation

Follow Us


Seek a mortgage professional and see where you fit in before you decide to buy your home. Our team is ready to help.
Give us a call  +1 416-640-0930 or send us an email to